Back to Running

So, after a few years and several kilos (ok, several 10s of kilos) gained I am considering getting back into my running.

A few weeks back I took my youngest daughter to a swimming meet, so we were in a different city, in a hotel and after dropping her off each day, limited activity – shopping which my wife enjoys, but anyone who knows me, will now have a mental picture of my face about the joys of shopping for 3 days.

The meet encompassed a weekend, so there was an opportunity to become a park run traveller. Never done this before, in fact, the only park run that I have ever done is my local one and there are 3 within easy reach of me. A new run.

This was made even more pressing by a discussion in the office about how much weight I feel I have gained and the need to lose it. After all, I will be presenting at a symposium soon and I feel that I will gain a little more confidence if I shed some pounds. The team stated that they wanted to see proof of the run and this spurred me on.

So, as the day approached to pick my daughter up and we were packing, I grabbed my running kit, much to the loud amusement of my wife. Guffaws and howls of laughter followed me, as I put my kit in the bag. “You won’t go”, “how long has it been” and the inevitable, “it will take you hours”.

To be fair, I cannot argue, I have said many times that I will restart my running and then find some reason or excuse not to go. The only one thing she said that worried me, was the time issue. How long would it take me? Had I put on so much weight, that I would be embarrassed by the time.

Finally, everything was packed and we were off. We arrived and we went for a walk. I found the start line and was mentally, saying that I would go and prove them all wrong. However, my internal devil was saying, look how far it is from the hotel, how long will this take to walk, you might have to get your daughter to the pool, will you be back in time to take her. But that was a tomorrow problem, as I had 2 days to wait.

On the next day, I dropped daughter off at the pool and found a car park, close by the start line. So everything was in place apart from the enthusiasm for the run. I was concerned that I would not complete the distance or that my time would be embarrassingly long.

That evening, I prepped my kit and had a good sleep. I got up, had some breakfast and then took daughter to the swimming pool. I went to the car park and proceeded to put my contact lenses in. Now there is a question, why do people persist with these things, difficult to put in, initially uncomfortable. Why? For me, it is a safety thing, I cannot see enough to run without some correction, but there is no way I can imagine getting up early and putting them in. An extra ten minutes in bed, and a pair of glasses, sorted!

I had got the car park a little early and I then sat and surfed the net. As more people started to walk past, decked out in running kit, I felt that it was time to make a move. Off I went, to complete a new Park Run.

I got to the start point and had a look at the route, turned round and saw a familiar top – all the way to Wales and there is a Portsmouth Coastal Marathon T-shirt, it really is a small world.

Then safety brief, new runners and tourists – that was a new experience but what struck me most, was how the friendliness and support mirrored, that which I was used to at Lakeside. It must be the running community, friendly and supportive. A lot of encouragement from complete strangers, what a community to be a bit part member of.

I can remember lining up and trying to work out where to stand, where I would not cause others to slow down or hold them up. I positioned myself towards the back, probably the last third of the crowd. The start was sounded and off we went, some initial trials and tribulations in getting the fitness watch to record the data.

I was amazed, caught up with the atmosphere and off I went. Overtaking people and being overtaken until the natural order of things took over, I was off to a good start and then I realised that I needed to slow down. Breathing very fast and the walking started. Less than half a mile covered and needed to walk. That kind of set the pattern for the rest of the run, walk and run, run and walk.

I got to the turn around spot, half way through and I was knackered, so long since any running and I was feeling every muscle burning step and every rasping breath, with the much needed oxygen that never felt enough. Why was I doing this to myself? What could I possibly gain from it?

On the way back and you would have thought that I would be finding it easier, not a chance, if anything, it was harder. The steps felt shorter and slower, whilst the distance seemed much further than the first half.

As I rounded the last corner, I felt that I should run it all the way in but that ignored the distance of the home straight, it was about 200m longer than I could manage, but I finished.

I am not going to lie, it was hard work and slightly disappointing due to the amount of walking, I did. One day, I will start off at a pace that is suitable for a) my age and b) my fitness. It really did feel like a case of my mind wants to run as if I am still a 35-40 year old capable of a sub 60 min 10K but my body laughs at me and says, here is the reality of your age and current ability – double the perception of my mind.

I was very glad that I did it. At the very least it prevented me from having to go shopping too early. Anyone that knows me, will testify to my intense dislike of just wondering around a town or city centre. In and out of shops, too many people, crowded and people just meandering from one bottle neck to the next. Yuk!

The really big positive was that I felt better for doing it. I was more energised than I have been. I had had some “me” time. A chance to ponder and not really have to worry about to much, but just think and consider the world and my own tiny existence in it.

I suppose the question now is, have you been back out since then? Sadly, the answer is no. I am often very tired and I am not a great early morning person, and when I get home from work. I tend to just plonk myself down and have very little energy – although that may be a euphemism for too little self discipline. I did make my wife laugh, when I said I wanted to make a memorable Park Run at the next swimming meet, it would be my 25th Park Run but I have to crack on and do another 7 before then, at least I think it is another 7. Best get my act together, then…

One thing I will take away from this run, is how lucky my wife was to grow up with this on her doorstep….

Leave a comment